Many governments are investing in widening roads to tackle traffic issues. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages

It is true that governments in many countries can spend money on broadening roads to address traffic issues. This essay will argue that the advantages of this development are eclipsed by the disadvantages involved. It is undeniable that building roads wider can be advantageous to a certain extent. Firstly, larger roads will significantly reduce traffic accidents. This means that a transportation system designed with expanded lanes will allow vehicles to be easier to transport instead of having to jostle in crowded narrow streets. Secondly, it is much more likely to ease traffic congestion when roads are reorganized. As a result, means of transport are able to move fast but still keep at a safe distance. However, I think this effect is only of short-term relevance since, in the long run, widened roads would encourage more cars used, meaning that these roads would become congested again. There are several concerned disadvantages outweighing the above advantages. The first point is that the construction of new expanded roads necessitates a huge amount of money. Consequently, governments have to allocate their state budget reasonably to avoid the financial burden caused by new road reconstruction. Another drawback of this solution is that it has negative effects on nearby residents. This is because the building of broad streets causes noise and smog which affect badly to people's lives in surrounding areas. In conclusion, although widened roads can bring some benefits, their disadvantages can not be ignored.