The higher proportion of older population will over take younger generation what is the reason? is it positive or negative development?

With the startling pace of social and scientific development in recent decades, the poplulation of the senior is growing, eventually, it will exceed the younger generation. In such circumstance, disadvantageous effects are unavoidable. There are a few sound reasons contributing to the growth of the aged population. First of all, owing to improvements in science, medication, and techonology, people tend to live healthier and longer in today's world. Many diceases and sickness are no longer incurable, for example, tubeculosis (TB) was a death sentence to some people decades ago, but lives can be saved if the paitients are sent to hospital at an early stage. Another important factor is nowadays concept regarding family structure. According to a survey in Shanghai, China, nuclear families accounted for 70% and among them, over half families would choose to have only one child. As a result, the senior population will outnumber the minor in a near future. We cannot deny that this trend will bring a few negative consequences. To begin with, the retiring population will impose a great pressure on the government to maintain a satisfying healthcare system and pension policies. In addition, there will be a lack of labour force especially in the industries which need the employees to be physically fit. For example, construction work and service industry, to certain extent, it hinders the economic development. In this case, joint family style should be encouraged so that young people can shoulder the responsibilities of taking care of the elders, meanwhile government and industries should promote incentives to encourage young people to conduct manual work. In conclusion, as every field is developing day by day, life expectancy is expanded. The fast growing old population can casue issues but I believe no matter how complicated the issue is now, the measures outlined above would constitute a good first step.