Nowadays governments in many countries spend a lot of money on works of art such as paintings to be displayed in public places. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, citizens all over the world have an opportunity to enjoy a wide range of valuable pictures and other artworks while visiting public places. I tend to support a suggestion that the initiative of the government to invest a considerable amount of money in this innovation is an important and positive strategy, that boosts local economy on the one hand and supports artists on the other. First of all, decorating public places with pieces of art, such as statutes and pictures, may attract more tourists to the country and help the economy to thrive. Local businesses supply materials and labor, whereas restaurants and hotels benefit from visitors. In this case, the income overweight’s the costs, consequently, this is one of the reasons why supporting art is a good investment and not waste of taxpayer’s money. The second reason is that is can be an effective strategy to encourage talented people to create. By supporting their work, the government cultivates the environment where the next masterpiece appears. The importance of providing professional opportunities to artisans and artists could hardly be overestimated and should definitely be an essential part of a country’s budget. To conclude, these days, there has been a growing emphasis on displaying expensive pieces of art in public places. Some may argue that it costs a lot, but I see it as a good investment in both the local economy and the environment, that affords people to create.