In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

It was considerably common for students to study in their home state when they pursued for a degree from tertiary education, whereas, these days, they receive more chance to perform an overseas study, which is able to broaden their horizons. However, students tend to face with more hindrances while living abroad. On the one side, having a third-level education overseas results in several benefits for the students. The experiences gained from this opportunity appear to be significant for students. It is because they are required to exit their comfort zone by immersing themselves on the local culture, which seem to enrich their knowledge. For instance, people who decide to continue their education in Japan are being forced to learn Japanese language and the culture of Japanese society; thus, they have unlocked a new language ability. Furthermore, studying abroad could be a proper way to expand students connection. Strong connection with other people usually brings benefits in the future, especially when they graduate from the university and start looking for an employment. Additionally, in some cases, the employment rate of individual who graduated from foreign university tends to be higher than local graduated students’, for example, some companies in Indonesia prefer to hire someone’s who had studied abroad. However, the advantages come with some drawbacks, especially to the students themselves. To begin with, most students live with their parents from the elementary until secondary education, and when they decide to study outside of their countries, they need to move out and live by themselves. This condition appear to be overwhelming for some students because they will surely experience homesick and stress. If this happened, they would not be able to focus on their education and the worst case would be failed to satisfy the minimum grades to graduate. For example, research claims that mental condition play a fundamental role in students life and stress is the number one factor of their failure. Secondly, studying overseas may require a significant amount of money, ranging from tuition fee to living cost. It appears to be a burden to their family and to the students themselves. In various case, many families apply for loan to fund the university’s fee. In conclusion, while studying abroad provide new experiences and opportunities for students, the stress and cost can be a considerable drawbacks.