Student must have roommate in college/university, but there are some problems with each other. Discuss about problems and solutions for these problems

Living in a shared room in the university dorm is one of the greatest experiences of all time. However, it definitely comes with some struggles. It is inevitable that students, especially freshmen, worried about potential problems with their roommate. In the following paragraphs, first, several important problems that can occur between roommate are discussed, then the causality of those problems is explained. And finally, the corresponding solutions are offered to clarify how to handle such conflict. Although sharing a living space with another person can be a fun and pleasant experience, it is inevitably accompanied by potential conflicts that roommates might face. Some of the most common roommate problems include messiness or uncleanliness in shared spaces, different sleep schedules, and privacy issues. Messiness means how clean people like their home to be, so if the roommates’ expectations don’t align, it causes unequal cleaning responsibilities which feels like one roommate is doing all the cleaning chores. Different sleeping habit means that one roommate loves to stay up late while the other one is an early bird. If their sleeping habits are not in sync, it creates a lot of problems for them. Privacy issue contains different context. One privacy conflict is having a roommate who takes other one ’s things without asking him. The other privacy problem is invading roommate private zone which is frustrating. The question is why such problem happened? The causality of the mentioned problem goes back to different roots like family background, cultural problem, and educational system. Usually, people who share a room come from different backgrounds-family backgrounds, cultural and social backgrounds. Growing up in varied environmental places with different backgrounds affects individual life skills. For example, a person who is born into a large family encounters privacy problem since he was a child in comparison to the one who is well-born and has personal room as an exclusive domain. It seems that if these two individuals become roommate, they encounter conflict about the definition of personal privacy. But how roommate can get along with each other with respect to all these differences? It seems that if each individual knows how to get along with the other people, he may be able to smooth things over. One solution is talking over the problems and difficulties. For example, for the messiness problem one roommate can have a conversation about the cleanliness of shared living spaces in a way that doesn’t invite defensiveness. Starting the dialogue in a non-judgmental, non-accusatory manner would be an effective way to go over this challenge. In summary, although Living in a shared room might be accompanied by potential problems, learning life skills and having knowledge about how to get along with other people made shared living into a blessing experience.