In many cities there is a lack of space to develop and as a result, in order to modernize, old buildings are demolished and replaces with new buildings. What are the disadvantages of knocking down old building? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this present world, the necessity of building more residents occurs as population and the need of more residence increase. The need of developing modern buildings forces the old ones to be demolished and reconstructed instead of building it in empty spaces, due to having not enough space in myriad cities. It is agreed that pros of modernising a city outweigh the cons of it. Analysing the advantages of a modern city would prove this statement. Firstly, reconstructing a building gives the chance to it to be safer, stronger and far more reliable by using far more developed and successful technologies and strategies while modenrising modernizing, since the technology improved since the old ones built. Moreover, new techniques and cautions are benefiting the reliability of a building, protecting homeowner from disasters. For instance, staying in a old building while an earthquake is happening would be a nightmare, whereas new buildings would not even make you feel that a disaster is happening. So, modern buildings are more reliable and stable if you afraid of disasters. Secondly, destroying an old building is extremely time and money consuming. Even though, the needed money and time provided, permissions to reconstruct are really hard to get. Moreover, ruins after demolishing must be cleaned by the same people who demolish. For example, building a house takes 1 year and a budget, whereas reconstructing it takes one and a half times greater time and budget. Therefore the person who modernising the building must think twice before getting in. To summarize, there are a lot of criteria when choosing to live in whether a old or a modern home, such as reliability, exterior, sustainability and most importantly the price. Although the process of building a new apartment is complicated and money and time consuming, relying on the home that you live is much more important than money or time. After all, it is life and death in that case most people will choose life over death.