Some people think that it’s a good idea to socialise with work colleagues during evening and weekends. Other people think it’s important to keep working life completely separate from social life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by a few individuals that it is beneficial to spend time with co-workers apart from office hours, while other insist on maintaining a boundary between professional and personal life. I believe that later is true and this essay delves into the pros and cons of both the situation. To begin, interacting after office timings on either weekdays or weekends gives a personal touch to the relationship among office personnel. People get to know one another on a personal level and understand their needs and wants. Knowing each other at a personal as well as professional level can help workers achieve company targets in a more comfortable way. For instance, a recent Sunday times article revealed that personal bonding among co-workers improved their overall work efficiency by manifold. Additionally, conversing with a superior at a function apart from business hours, may fetch personal favours which could provide impetus to your career. Once a friendly relationship is achieved with one’s boss, it could help one evade unnecessary trouble at work. On the contrary, I believe that a fine line should always be maintained between professional and personal life. Paying more attention to work may deteriorate relationship in family. It is more important to spend time with spouse and children as life without family would be meaningless. For example, a survey conducted by a renowned organization showed that overworking was the most detrimental factor causing splits in the household. Furthermore, engaging with firm’s personnel after job timings also increases stress level. It is important to take regular breaks, to release unwanted stress as well as recharge yourself. Hence, in the light of the aforementioned argument, mingling with co-workers after duty hours maybe be beneficial to some extent but it is much more important to give time and space to the loved ones.