In many countries, parents put a large amount of pressure on their children to achieve high grades at school, leaving very little to no time for them to take part in leisure activities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, some people believe that children should put in all-out effort to achieve high grades at school, even though it may result in them losing out on time for leisure activities. In many countries, this stress comes from parents who want their children to become top students. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages. Some parents expect their children to achieve high grades in school. This opinion has several benefits that can be attributed to many reasons. Firstly, children who achieve good scores in school can boost their confidence and enhance their interpersonal relationships. When students work hard to do something well, it will bring confidence. In addition, other students who also aim to achieve good grades in school will try to befriend students who excel academically. Secondly, students who have good grades in school will help them develop in the future. Some companies require job applicants to provide their school grades and insist on good academic performance before offering them a job. This implies that students who perform poorly in school may struggle to secure employment. Parents often pressure their children to achieve high grades in school, which can lead to some problems. Firstly, overlearning increases student pressure. This behavior is harmful to students ' mental health. Students may suffer from mental health problems, such as depression and panic, due to excessive academic pressure. Secondly, achieving only good grades hinders the development of other skills. Students not only acquire knowledge but also develop skills in school. Focusing solely on getting good grades may reduce students ' opportunities to learn other skills and pursue other interests. To sum up, parents often encourage their children to achieve high scores in school, which can have various effects such as boosting confidence and improving interpersonal relationships. However, this approach can also lead to some issues, such as mental health problems and a reduction in the development of other skills.