In some high schools, part of the curriculum requires students to participate in community work such as helping the elderly or disabled. In what way do children benefit from this? Do you think it should be part of the curriculum?

To begin with, some high schools insists there students to participate in community work such as helping old people and people with special needs. Infact, I have studied in a similar type of school. I would be discussing the advantages of such kind of curriculum. Firstly, when students do community service they become very humble, they start respecting there surroundings. Community service is a great way to serve the nation and its old citizens. While doing community services, the student understand the value of help, For instance, Japan has strict curriculum where students till class 5th will not have any exams, rather they will be participating in community services like cleaning school bathrooms, cleaning classrooms, chopping and cleaning vegetables in school canteen. All these activites are helpful in buidling the career of their citizens. Secondly, such kind of services are immensely helpful to create bond with elders, classmates and friends. There will be no discrepenancy with respect to class, creed or religion. No showoff of wealth and while doing community service people loose their arrogance. This kind of services are great way of helping the nation. To conclude, I would say that having such a curriculum where community service is must is a very good thought and very good exercise for the kids who want to create bonds and learn how to stay grounded.