More and more people today are moving from the countryside. Why is this happening? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

With the startling pace of modernization and economic development, there is an upward trend that more and more rural residents are relocating to big cities. This phenomenon exists for a number of reasons and I reckon that it brings disadvantageous effects as a whole. People moving from countrysides to metropolis nowadays are mainly for further academic pursuit, diverse job opportunities and modernized lifestyle. To begin with, world famous universities are usually located in cities, therefore, moving out from the rural area and entering higher education is the first step to constitute the bright prospect of country students. In addition, to acheive a better career development, people are more likely to get more chances in urban areas as there are more big companies and industries in all fields. Last but not least, modernized city life is an attraction, especially to the youngests. It's more convenient to enjoy international food and night life, it's easier to find and socialize with people sharing the same interests and hobbies. However, the explosion of urban population will eventually result in negative impacts. First of all, it will disrupt the balance of the job market, unemployment will increase due to the great talent competition. Secondly, traffic congestions will be worsenen worsen worsening and the increasing pollution will lead to environmental problems such as global warming. On the other hand, while the poplulation in cities is increasing, there are fewer and fewer people living in the countrysides, which means less labour force in rural areas. Consequentely, this phenomenon will hinder the development of regional economic growth. To conclude, people moving out from their hometown aim for different pursuits, however, I reckon it is a disturbing trend because it is not positive for a sustainable societal development in a long term.