SOME PEOPLE SAY THAT THE INTERNET IS RESPONSIBLE FOR DESTROYING SOCIAL SKILLS OF TEENAGERS AND YOUNG ADULTS. WHY DO YOU THINK THE INTERNET IS SEEN AS DANGEROUS IN THIS WAY AND WHAT CAN WE DO TO ENSURE THAT IT DOES NOT HARM THE SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT OF TEENAGERS AND YOUNG ADULTS.

A controversial belief has arisen about the negative consequences of relying on the internet, and many people believe that it affects many social skills of teenagers. In this report, I will go through the reasons of that, and then I will present some solutions. To begin with, the internet is extremely dangerous because teenagers adapted to the use of it and they made a whole community for themselves on it. For further explanation, nowadays, many people avoid communicating face-to-face and, instead of that, they rely on the internet to work, communicate with relatives, and build relationships; as a result, they do not connect with their real world. In other words, they decided to run away from the reality and to live in a fake community. Additionally, this lifestyle leads to losing individuals' identities because of being with a variety of people from different nationalities. To illustrate that, many reports show that teenagers follow what they like, so a lot of them decide to forget their own culture and to copy other cultures that they like more; therefore, a lot of nations are losing their own traditions because of this development. Moreover, there are many solutions for this, and prevention is better than treatment. For further explanation, introducing a rule that prevents using mobile phones when the person is with a band is a helpful solution. For example, in KSA, pupils cannot use their phones in their schools; as a consequence, they have to communicate with their peers and this improved their social skills. Besides that, using cell phones for a limited time is another ideal solution, and many people acknowledge that they depend on this method in order to balance between their real world and their online relationships. In conclusion, although the internet is helpful, entertaining, useful, and joydul, it leads to many issues; hence, reducing the usage of the internet is an ideal way to avoid these problems.