Traffic congestion is a continuous and growing problem in major cities. Some people recommend enforcing peak-hour tolls to cut back on the amount of cars using major commuting roads during rush hours. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this proposed solution?

Traffic congestion is one of the major issues in the tier-1 cities which is substantially growing. A lot of people have suggested to introduce peak-hour toll to curb this issue completely. I will be discussing the advantages and disadvantages of this issue, in my essay. To start with, traffic jams are one of the biggest problems tier-1 cities are facing. It is so problematic that even government is struggling hard to erradicate it from the roots. Traffice jam is a serious problem, school students have to spend lot of time in travelling same goes with office going population. The time to commute has gone up drastically and lot of people are now spending time on roads stuck in traffic. In case of medical emergency, it becomes very difficult to pass the congested area, and as a result the patient has to suffer. Moreover, peak hour tolls can give some relief, but with growing population of India, the focus should be on convincing people to use public transport to large extent. For instance, Singapore has special discount for people who travels before the peak hours, the price of the metro rail ticket, will be half of actual price and lot of people takes advantage of this scheme. Another instance where Singapore government has imposed high taxes on privately owned car, so the car becomes less affordable, which is not only good to tackle the problem of the traffic but also very helpful in saving the environment from pollution. To conclude, I would say that peak hour toll is just one option and we should focus more on improving the ways to tackle the traffic congestion so that even poor people can afford to travel.