Freashwater has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of this increased demand, and what measures could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Nowadays, the increasing demand for freshwater across the globe is making it become a more scarce resource. This essay aims to discuss the reasons for this growing demand and what governments and individuals can take action to respond to the problem. In the following, two reasons will be discussed with respective measures. The first cause of the increased freshwater demand is due to public wasting habits. Since people are getting rich and the world tends to be in a relatively peace condition unlike the wars always happening in the past, they are more affordable to limited resources like freshwater with a stable supply. Therefore, they tend to take freshwater to be granted and often neglect the evidence that freshwater is limited, which makes them less treasure about it and increases the use with unnecessary waste. To tackle with this problem, it is suggested that the government should educate the public on the concept of cherishing limited fresh water or holding campaigns to make the public to participate in treasuring it in their daily lives. Moreover, the climbing agricultural use of freshwater is contributing to the increased demand of fresh water. Agriculture is always consuming the largest consumption of freshwater, and due to population growth, it also increases the resources input in agriculture and in turn grows the demand of freshwater. To reduce the freshwater used for agricultural purposes, it is recommended that SMART technology should be adopted in the industry so that freshwater can be recycled and reused in a sustainable way in order to decrease the unnecessary waste of it. To summarize, public and industry sectors can both lead to the demand for freshwater to be increased. By facing the scarce supply of freshwater, the government and individuals can mitigate the problem through education and technology applications.