Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student’s performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

Whether the official tests are the best way to evaluate the level on student’s knowledge has become a debated topic. When some people argue that it is the only way, others advocate the more holistic approach, where projects and dissertations should be considered. I totally agree with the aforementioned, and in this essay, I will claim that assessment system should be based on constant monitoring and not on formal exams only, to encourage more effective learning and avoid side effects of stress. First argument in favour of continual assessment is the fact, that repetition and constant practice are well known as the key to effective learning, due to people’s brain, that has long term memory and short- term memory. By intensive studying several days before an exam, students are mobilizing short term memory only, caused most of the material to be lost a few days later. In contrary, coursework usually takes much more time to complete, so more knowledge eventually put into long term memory, therefore this way of learning is more effective one. The second supporting fact is too much pressure that students may suffer from on the exam day. It is well known fact, that stress has negative effect in study performance, which may lead to underestimation of the students’ real level of knowledge simply because they feel too nervous during the test or get black out. Furthermore, by placing all the exams in one week at the end of term, as it is common at universities today, may culminate in accumulation of stress, which will prevent brain to function properly and, as a result, mislead the final assessment of the student’s knowledge. Based on the above, I strongly believe that formal method of examination is not the best way to assess the student’s knowledge and even may affect health, whereas constant evaluation through coursework and projects can be much more effective and healthier. Replacing the tests will benefit students, as new structure will support more data to memorize for longer period and will avoid unnecessary pressure.