It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read. Why do you think this is? What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

It is always suggested that it is a tough task to ask children to spend time reading. I believe this is because reading is not interesting to them, and setting a family reading hour every day and joining a reading club might be helpful methods to solve this problem. The majority of children dislike reading because it is a boring activity for them, and it is a tough thing to urge the youngsters to do the thing they dislike. This is because without passion, children might find it challenging and boring to finish a piece of work, such as reading. As a result, they may strongly reject to start the activity and run away from it. For example, when parents set a reading time for children, they might find it different to find suitable books and attractive stories. Thus, children might build a sense that all books are boring, and it would be difficult to ask them to read the next time. There are several approaches that can be taken to stimulate reading more and build a regular reading habit. Firstly, parents can read together with children from a younger age. In this way, reading is a family moment for them to enjoy instead of a work for minors. Secondly, young ones can join a book club where a librarian chooses fascinating books according to different age groups, and there are also fun activities available for every section. For instance, little ones have reading assignments for a week, and based on the content, they might join team activities to achieve a goal. Therefore, throughout the active reading process, it not only forms a reading passion but also builds a reading habit. In conclusion, feel bored is the main reason that causes children run away from reading and reading together with family members, and attending book clubs are the methods can be taken leading children read more.