Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a discussion that, nowadays, people are living longer rather than before. Some problems appear from those phenomena. This essay will explore both the advantages and disadvantages of these issues. On the one hand, one of the advantages of an ageing population is the wealth of experience and basic knowledge that older people can bring to society. All of them possess valuable skills and experiences that accumulated over their lifeways which can be assist young people for their future. Furthermore, older people can contribute to communities in various ways, such as providing mentorship and guidance for younger generations. For example, ageing people can assist young people when they face some problems that seems are impossible to solve. This is because they have wisdom over experiences in their past. On the other hand, this phenomenon comes with drawbacks and challenges. They can be a burden on the government budget. The reason is, that they still have a right to get health insurance but they do not productive anymore for their country. In addition, the government must charge more to the younger communities in productive age to support the older generations by paying the higher taxes. This challenge will affect the economy of the nation massively if the government do not take any action seriously. In conclusion, while there are benefits of an ageing people in terms of experiences, the drawbacks related to healthcare budget and economic affects cannot be ignored. I personally believe that the disadvantages will dominate the benefits.