Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Several processed food and beverage products have been known contain high amounts of glucose, which in return deteriorate the medical state of humans. However, there is contention over whether their prices should be increased in order to discourage their consumption. I personally believe that such harmful produce should be made less affordable as not only will this encourage consumers to look for further, healthier alternatives, but it also has the potential to decrease the frequency at which they intake such damaging items. To begin with, one key advantage with a substantially increased cost is that it will encourage customers to search for cheaper substitutes, as opposed to continuing relying on the unhealthier products. Consequently, this will therefore decrease the quantity of sugar-containing substances they consume such as Sodas or Ice Cream on a common basis when the government artificially lowers the price. This will in return decrease their average blood sugar levels, which are associated to reduce the risk of some of the most long-lasting, damaging and common health issues which derive from high quantities of sucrose intake such as Diabetes or in most grave instances, Heart Attacks. It is therefore unsurprising that such policies are becoming more and more enforced on worldwide level. This is already being done and has been propagated in the United Kingdom, where a ‘Sugar Tax’ has been introduced not so long ago on sugary drinks such as Fanta, Sprite or Coca Cola. Hence, if imposed effectively, it is my notion that higher payments for such manufactured consumer durables will significantly improve the physical wellbeing of the overall population, since they become more incentivised to look for healthier, sugar-free alternatives. Similarly, such a noticeable change in the pricing will decrease the frequency at which people purchase sucrose-filled durables. In the presence of such a difference, although those demanding such goods will likely remain addicted in contrast to if they were banned altogether, in the long term, they will become more disincentivised to consume them. This is because as the price rises, over time the total annual proportion of their income which they spent on such health deteriorating produce such as Brownies or Candy will increase, which will as a result encourage them to spend it more productively on other, healthier activities like on sports such as Boxing. To exemplify this, a higher price has also been implemented in San Francisco, California, where sellers now charge twice or even triple as much in comparison to previous times for sweetened drinks such as ‘Powerade.’ By contrast, without such government legislations, buyers would continue having a greater financial accessibility to such manufactured sugary refreshments. This is why I firmly believe that wellbeing issues can be overcome through such policies, despite the potential discontent among buyers ovee the added surcharge. In conclusion, whilst there may be certain discontent and disarray by those acccostumed to in taking sugar-filled nourishments and refreshments, I would personally agree that they should be set a higher price because not only will this actively encourage buyers to look for healthier alternatives, but will also decrease the extent at which they buy such unhealthy products.