Task 2: Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over the fact that making a reduction in the amount of pollution from environment and housing problems may prevent humans’ beings from illness and disease. This essay is devoted to discussing why it is entirely necessary for the ministry to concentrate on this action. On the one hand, environmental problems have become the major cause behind some serious health issues of humans. To begin with, environmental pollutants can cause health problems like respiratory diseases, heart disease, and some types of cancer. For example, people with low incomes are more likely to live in polluted areas and have unsafe drinking water. There are lots of factories producing a huge amount of garbage which enters the water sources like rivers and lakes, thereby causing dangerous diseases to residents in these areas who use the water of the rivers and lakes on a daily basis. Specifically, children and pregnant women are at higher risk of health problems related to pollution. Therefore, important laws and policies, like imposing heavy fines to certain locations discharging pollutants, should be put forward to reduce different types of pollution, which can also help prevent many serious health problems and deaths. While some health issues related to environment pollution are widely acknowledged, it is also necessary for the government to take into consideration housing problems which can have detrimental impact to people’s health. Living in unsafe and unsuitable housing conditions, people may be at risk of exposure to a number of potential health hazards. For example, there are a wealth of slum areas in Saigon, which are often small, cramped, and lack the necessary amenities and infrastructure to meet the needs of residents. As a result, individuals living in these areas may face some health problems regarding respiratory, nervous system, and cardiovascular diseases. So, if the government looks into this issue and provides amenities, necessities, such problems can be avoided to a great extent. In conclusion, I have a consensus with this idea that it is the responsibility of the government to focus on environmental pollution and housing problems, which can prevent humans’ beings from illness and disease.