QUESTION : IN SOME PLACES, OLD AGE IS VALUED, WHILE IN OTHER CULTURES YOUTH IS considered MORE important.Discussion both views and give your opinion.

Respecting the senior is a traditional virtue in many countries, meanwhile, paying more attention to the youth is a growing trend in today's world. In my opinion, equal respect, love and care should be given to both the old and the young generations. There is an old Chinese saying, "The elder is the treasure in a family." That is because in a family, parents and grandparents are the supporters, they shoulder the responsibilities of financial incomes, household chores, and raising up their offsprings. A family is just a miniature of the society. The predecessors from all walks of life paved the way for nowadays advanced development with their profound knowledge and rich experience, to some extent, not a single success is without learning lessons from the old age nor basing on their achievements. Therefore, old people should be valued undoubtedly. On the other hand, the young generation is the future of the world thus cannot be ignored. It is unfortunate that in the midst of vast progress in every field of today's life, there are still adolescent problems such as alarming illiteracy rate, juvenile delinquency and youth unemployment. A great deal of such issues originated from lack of family and societal attention, in addition with the temptation from today's ubiquitous mass media, video games and internet influences, young people would easily go astray if they are not educated or guided properly at the right time, thus casusing detrimental impacts on scietal development. To conlude, it is signifant to form a concept of valuing the senior as well as the junior for the sustainable development of a harmonious society.