The spread of urban areas has led to deforestation and has caused many animal species to become endangered. Environmental groups are urging governments to protect these animals. What are the benefits of protecting animals? What can governments do to protect animals?

As a result of urbanisation, certain animal species have seen their numbers decline considerably over the past few decades. Without human intervention, there is a distinct possibility of extinction for many of these creatures. This essay will cover the key advantages of protecting endangered wildlife, as well as some ways in which governments can help safeguard their future. Animal protection has two significant benefits. In the first instance, the conservation of endangered species contributes to the preservation of the delicate balance between ecosystems. For example, bees play a vital role in pollination, ensuring the availability of fruits, vegetables and nuts. The loss of one endangered species can endanger many others and negatively impact ecosystem health. Therefore, taking action that protects and restores nature is critical. Secondly, wildlife preservation initiatives often promote ecotourism, which has the potential to boost both rural livelihoods and environmental conservation. Wildlife protection areas, like the Kruger National Park in South Africa, attract large numbers of tourists each year bolstering the economy of the country and cultivating environmental awareness. Governments can contribute to the preservation of threatened species by enforcing laws and allocating financial resources. By introducing legislative measures to protect wildlife areas and prevent poaching, animals can live peacefully and without the risk of being killed by humans. An example is the strategy led by the Ministry of National Resources and Tourism in Tanzania, whereby action is being taken to combat poaching and safeguard the future of the African Elephant and Rhinoceros. An International government-led wildlife enforcement network, like Operation Cobra 11, established to clamp down on the illegal trade of wildlife across borders, is another example of where legislation has made a significant difference to species recovery. Investing in habitat restoration projects, such as those outlined in the Australian Threatened Species Action Plan, can also have a significant impact on species survival in the long term. In conclusion, the protection of threatened species has significant benefits, both environmentally and economically. Governments globally can contribute to the preservation of the Earth's varied animal species by enacting regulatory measures and allocating financial resources.