Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage from using their cars?

Vehicle possession has escalated dramatically for the last 30 years which leads to traffic congestion in many cities in the world. I completely agree with the given statement. Governments should take initiatives to prevent usage of cars.In the following paragraphs, I will discuss the logic behind this statement and the effective regulations government can take to halt this. To begin with, as the rapid expansion of modern technology has made our lives so much comfortable that we can easily buy new cars. The prices of cars have become more affordable. As a result, middle class people are also addicted to buy new cars. With the increasing number of cars, traffic system is in a disastrous position in many countries. For instance, in Bangladesh, the rapid rise of automobiles has broken the traffic system. People have to wait 3-4 hours on traffic jam daily which result in hampering productivity. Governments can take initial steps for reducing this catastrophe and make the situation better. In order to do this, cabinets should impose higher taxes on private vehicles. Along with this, they can strict the rules and the regulations to buy automobiles such as, increasing the formalities before buying private cars. For example, in the USA the government has imposed so many rules that citizens can not buy new vehicles easily. Moreover, governments should also develop public transports. Because, if the public buses and trains are not convenient to ride, then the other measures will not be fruitful. To sum up, in recent years, usage of private transports has inreased significantly and it has become a calamity in many countries. So, officials should come forward to solve the problem.