Some people feel that playing computer games has a nagative impact on children's health and social skills. Others say that it can have a positive impact on their lives. Discuss both these views.

The advancement in technology has created an evolution in the field of computers and the invention of computer game is a by-product of this process. Although some people believe that computer game affects the development of a child others are of the opinion that it benefits children in future. This essay will discuss these two arguments in detail. Playing computer games have adverse effects among children especially affecting their physical as well as mental health. Moreover, too much focus on computer games can deteriorate their social skills because of less interactions with other individuals. For example, a recent study in Australia says that young boys and girls who spent more than four hours of a day on computer games are introverts due to less communication. Therefore, it is conspicuous that these types of games have bad influence during the growing phase of a child. On the contrary, playing games on the computer enhances the intelligence and analytical capabilities of children. This is because children tend to apply the whole concentration while playing games which improves their analytical thinking that will ultimately be helpful in their future careers. For example, games like Sudoku and Chess Master are wholly dependent on intellectual skills and the presence of mind; even child counsellors suggest playing these games. Therefore, it is an undeniable fact that games available on computers or mobiles are beneficial to develop skills required in future. In conclusion, computer games now form an integral part of today’s children. This essay discussed that even though computer games play a significant role in the development of intellectual skills, increased usage can harm child’s overall growth.