In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.What are the advantages and disadvantages ofgiving children this message?

In many cultures, people raise their children through encouragement. They told their child as long as they worked hard, they could achieve everything. From my prospect, this message could bring both advantages and drawbacks to children. The main advantage that telling this message to children could bring is self-confidence. In contemporary society, with the increasing pressure in life and competition among peers. People, especially children, tend to question themselves more often as an act of lacking confidence. Telling them putting effort could make a difference is a great way to encourage them to do their best to achieve goals, which could help establish self-confidence. Not to mention the message could also intensify their belief that their efforts are worthwhile so that they could be more willing to take actions. Additionally, the more encouragement children receive, the more possibilities they have. The reason why people always criticise Chinese education is because lacking of encouragement. Children are afraid to talk, play and make mistakes, making Chinese students less creative and failing to think and achieve big. However as research finds out, most children who later become successful are often raised through their parents' encouragement. There is a tied bond between success and encouragement which cannot be ignored. Each coin has two sides, drawbacks also exist when telling children that they could achieve everything through hard work. Teenagers may become overconfident and even arrogant. They might think they could achieve everything as long as they work hard, making them less focused on the choice of path or method they have. They might choose a difficult method though there are some which could cost less. Additionally, the overconfidence that telling the message might bring could also make children set up goals which are much higher than their ability. And as soon as they find out that they are not able to achieve it, depression and other mental illnesses might come. To conclude, it is true that establishing children ’s confidence through encouragement has significant benefits, but the adversely affect it might bring are also important to be aware of and prevent.