Some people think that young people should follow older people's examples. Others believe it is quite natural for teenagers to challenge what old people say. Describe both point of views. Give your opinion with reasons and relevant examples.

Respecting the elders is universally agreed as a virtue, however, nowadays it is believed that young people should challenge some old concepts which are outdated. I partially agree with both ideas. This essay will first look at the arguments for respecting the senior before turning to those against. There is an old Chinese saying, "The elder is the treasure in a family." With the rich experience from life, the senior is a mirror of the young generation. People can refer to their ancestors' scucess, and also learn from the lessons of the failures. For instance, without examples from the elders, some traditional skills may be lost. Older people's examples often come from a place of experience and wisdom, and following them can help young people avoid common pitfalls in life. On the other hand, with the starling pace of changes in the current era, many old norms and traditions are considered conservative or even proved to be unscientific. To cite just one example, in some Asian countries, old people tend to prefer boys to girls because they believe boys can carry on the bloodline inheritance and shoulder more responsibilities. However, with an open mind and a far-sight living in the modern age, people should advocate for sexual equality. With the progress of society, some opposition voices can also become a driving force of societal development. To conclude, we should respect some societal norms and values established by the old generations that can provide a strong moral compass for the youth, meanwhile, by challenging older people's outdated views can encourage critical thinking and personal growth.