Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage from using their cars?

In the last three decades, the number of people using their private cars has risen significantly. Because of this, numerous cities in the world are challenged by traffic congestion due to the social status that folks have if they apply own their private vehicle and the government should improve public transportation infrastructure to reduce the number of traffic jams on the road. To begin with, owning private cars is commonly associated with social status, which means that having an automobile becomes a symbol of success in terms of financial stability. For evidence, in many developing countries, if someone has the ability to buy a car, that means the person is rich and others will respect them even though they purchase cars by applying mortgage from the bank. This convenience of purchasing vehicles leads to many problems such as traffic congestion. In addition, to combat this problem, the governments should build a good system of public transportation that is integrated into all areas in cities so people can reach their destination more easily where these convenience facilities can lead people to take consideration before buying a car. As an example, Seoul has an efficient subway system yet extensive that is highly integrated with the bus network, providing easy access to many parts of the city. This leads people to not rely on their own car and this can be a role model to other cities to take similar action. In conclusion, while having a private car is becoming popular in many nations, it is crucial for the government to tackle this issue by building a good system of public transportation so that societies are interested in taking that as their primary transportation and this will definitely have good impact such as decreasing number of traffic jams due to lack of people driving.