More and more schools allow fast food restaurant to sell their products to their students.Is it a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, an increasing number of fast food restaurants has led to a troubling effect in all over the world. A lot of schools are now giving the permission to sell these food items to their students. In my opinion, It is a negative development. In the following paragraphs, I intend to discuss the reasons behind its negative impact. To begin with, in recent years school childrens are consuming fast food items excessively inside and outside of the schools. As schools have permitted the restaurants to conduct their businesses, these heavy food items have become more available to the learners. As a result, overconsumption of fast food is increasing day by day and this leads to a detrimental impact on their health. For instance, in 2023 a survey conducted by Brac has shown that more than 80% students are addicted to beverage item due to it's easy accessibility. Moreover, fast food is spoiling the taste bar of the children and they are not interested to take tiffin from home. As students have to stay long time at the school, they intake only those outside products. As a result, the ailment rate has also increased. So, overall it has a negative impact in our society. To illustrate, a journal has shown that at present in Bangladesh the obesity among school going children is increasing dramatically which leads to rise of diabetese, mental disorder, cancer and other health issues. Although fast food businesses have grown exponentially which results in higher economic development, its disadvantages outweigh the advantages. To sum up, a growing number of educational institutions are permitting restaurants. They shoud restrict it as it leads to extreme negative effect on the school children.