Some people think that new houses should be built in the same style as older houses in the local area. Others disagree and say that local authorities should allow people to build houses in the styles of their own choice. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Certain individuals believe that maintaining a similar design of all houses in a locality is a better idea than allowing any new architectural manuever. Both opinions have different reasons which will be explored further in this essay. From my perspective, people should be allowed to make houses in any manner they desire. To begin with, same kinds of houses in an area facilitates better planning for the authorities. The government tends to use this technique to collect taxes accurately. They only permit designs on the basis of land, mortgage and taxes paid by owner of the property. So, it is used as a tool to control real estate at a micro level. For example, in Canada, the city municipalities regularly inspect houses to check if any property changed by its landlord in an unauthorized way. If they find any changes such as creating a new basement to collect more rent then they issue penalities or sometimes increase taxes on the offender. In contrast, some people desire that they should be allowed to fulfil their wishes through constructing their dream home. They desire that whatever they invest in their home should be the nearest of what they have dreamt of. To exemplify, rich people want to enjoy a comfort home because they think that they had done enough hard work to construct that. Their hard work should be rewarded. They can easily pay any amount of money government charges from them. In conclusion, it is true that the government wants to control housing market. Although, their are other sections in society which can easily pay whatever is charged on their property. Ergo, public should be allowed to create their dream homes in any way they want.