There seems to be increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather tah than Continual assessments. What are advantages and disadvantage?

Assessing students based on examinations and continual assessments has been practiced for a long time. Is this technique beneficial and effective? In this essay, we will discuss the pros and cons of exams and their impact on students, compared to continual assessments. Since the 1650s and 1660s in our country, exams have provided a standardized way to measure students ' performance and serve as an effective form of revision and memorization. Furthermore, exams are essential for converting scores and GPAs for international study purposes. For example, countries like India follow a specific exam pattern, and a sudden change could lead to perplexion among students. On the other hand, examinations can be stressful and cause anxiety among students. Additionally, exams may not accurately reflect a student's overall abilities or knowledge within the given time limit. For instance, a survey conducted by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology states that exams foster surface learning rather than a deep understanding of the material. Moreover, continual assessments reduce pressure on students and allow them to explore their talents and interests in different subjects. Overall, continual assessments create a friendly atmosphere for students to learn and explore their interests in various subjects. However, it can be challenging to convert the marksheet to percentages, especially for international study purposes. Despite this, in my opinion, continual assessment is better than board exams because exams primarily test memory power.