Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is said that parents should motivate their children to participate in group programmes during their spare time, while others have the opinion that children should know how to keep themselves occupied. If children are allowed to take part in group activities, they will learn how to mingle and work with various people, building a sense of unity. On the other hand, if they can find their own task to do, they can be more productive in any talent they like. However, in my opinion, it is better that children choose which method is best for them as each person is different, some may be introverts and some extroverts, who would only do better if left free in a surrounding they are comfortable in. Children taking part in group activities will learn the skill to work with and plan different tasks together, this helps them learn the skill of unity, which is helpful for their future careers. As working in a office requires the cooperation between different people in a multidisciplinary approach, exposing children to these situations during childhood will be a great asset for their future goals. For instance, it was found that, it was those doctors who took part in group tasks during their childhood, showed more compassion to their patients and who took a collective decision with other doctors in case of treatment plans. Meanwhile, taking part in group tasks also helps them meet and interact with people of different backgrounds, ideas and interests. This can widen their knowledge and provide them a platform to share their ideas, discuss and get feedback, enhancing their education. On the contrary, if children are allowed to decide how they want to occupy themselves, it helps them find what particular skill they are interested in. In group tasks, they have to have a common opinion and may not always get a stand on their own or do what they prefer the most, but if they are alone, they will do what is best for them. Not only does it help them find a new skill, but it also gives them room to practise their skill and excel in the future. This gives them more focus and attention to something that they like. It was found that those children who spent most of their time alone during their young ages developed a unique skill. Most artists and celebrities who are famous reported to have have found their talent themselves while being alone rather than being involved in groups. In conclusion, although encouraging children to take part in group activities to help them widen their knowledge, exposure and sense of oneness is a positive aspect, allowing them to occupy themselves to know what is best for them is also a good side. However, it is best that children choose which method they prefer as each person has a different taste.