In many countries the widespread use of internet has given people more freedom to work or study at home instead of traveling to work or college. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In some nations, the availability of the Internet has allowed to work or attend school rather than going to workplaces or colleges. While there are some merits to this, this essay will discuss its several detrimental consequences. One major benefit of the availability of the Internet is cost-effective. This means that it can reduce additional costs such as meals, commuting expenses, and work attire. Students and employees could set aside money and spend on rainy days. Thus, using the Internet prevents wasting money to some extent. Furthermore, the Internet has made it easier for people to collaborate and work together on projects and assignments, regardless of the location through tools such as video conferencing and online whiteboard. Hence, it not only connects people globally but also provides a more engaging and effective learning experience. The predominant downside of extended use of the Internet, however, is distraction. That is to say, the home environment can filled with distractions such as household chores, family members and pets, which can impact productivity. Another major drawback of this is that it might trigger health issues, which means, the Internet may cause pupils and employees to opt for a sedentary lifestyle for themselves; therefore, they no longer go out and would rather stay at home. They probably get involved in health problems, including obesity, cardiovascular, and anxiety, as a result, people might suffer from physical and mental problems, which can have irreparable consequences over time. In conclusion, although could be beneficial for cost saving and increasing collaboration and networking, I believe that the disadvantages of this development are more sustainable than its upsides as will be explained in the essay.