You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

The internet is becoming available to everyone as people now have access to the latest news at their fingertips via smartphones. I completely agree that this had reduced the number of people reading the newspapers. I will explore some the reasons for this change. Firstly, the internet posseses possess countless variety of methods for sharing the news instantly as it happens. For instance, if there was a bomb blast in a country, the news will be updated to online platforms within minutes. Consequently, breaking news will reach the people through forwarded messages, notifications and people sharing digital article links on their pages. However with newspapers, the general public would have to wait until the next morning to discorver major occurences of a political situation. Moreover, the internet has allowed relevant news to be reached to people of interest. For example, social media companies use algorithams to select their target audiance for specific posts, therefore people will be shown information about recent events in the fields of their interests. For example, following days of my GCSE results, whenever I logged onto a social media app, or opened the BBC news, I was updated with news and evaluation data about GCSE. Furthermore, I would easily come across other relevant news in the field of education such as university courses and job opportunities. This is certainly better than the everyone in the country being presented with the same layout of news as people with no interest in the topic will get bored. The internet therefore saves time for the readers and prevents audiance audiences from getting bored of unwanted information. To conclude, people are moving towards utilising the internet to stay up-to-date with current affairs rather than reading the newspaper. The two manin reasons for this change is because important news are often available instantly online and relevant news are easily accessible.