In many countries, teenagers are encouraged to do part-time jobs. What’s the situation like in your country? What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of doing part-time jobs?

Nowadays, there is a growing trend of teenagers taking part-time jobs, in my country as well. While this trend gains its populariy, a lot of criticisms also follow. Some people assert that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits, however, I tend to disagree. To begin with, part-time jobs provide young people hands-on experience which may benefit their career explorations. A survey to HRs from all walks of life reveals that among the graduates, most of the companies are in favor of choosing the applicants who had some part-time job experience because they believe those applicants are more capable and with good time management skills. Therefore, doing a part-time job is in a way practicing the theoractical knowledge acquired from the school, in addition, it is a great opportunity to build up one's networking thus paving the way for the future career development. In addition, part-time jobs leads to young people's financial independence. For instance, in my country, some teenagers are encouraged to work after school in order to relieve the family financial burden caused by the rising tuition fees. As a result, such experience often shape young people's personality to be responsible and mature which are both good qualities needed in the job markets. Though some people argue that the work after school may potentially impact teenagers' academic performance at school, in fact, balanced hours of part-time work can relieve the stress from their studies which is beneficail to maintain good mental health. To conclude, part-time jobs are rewarding to young people in many aspects. The advantages include gaining work experience, helping out with family financial situations, becoming more responsible and timely organized, and so on. I do think it is positive to a teenage's current life and also future prospect.