Some people think children’s spending time on TV, video and PC games is good,while others think it is bad. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is thought by some people that allowing young people to spend their time on entertainment such as TV, videos and PC games is an awesome idea while others believe it will bring a lot of downsides to youngsters. In this essay, both viewpoints will be outlined before reaching my opinion. To begin with, it is undeniable that recreation such as television programmes and computer games can provide the new generations with several benefits, one of the positive effects is learning. To elaborate, many movies and games these days have subtitles while the characters are socialising, allowing children to grasp new vocabulary and enhance their listening skills. Furthermore, young people can think along and try to use their creativity in order to solve the problems inside the entertainment while they are watching or playing them. For instance, my 9-year-old cousin is now addicted to the newly released Harry Potter game and he told me that his English language proficiency had increased because of this game. Besides, he explained to me how he used his creativity to solve puzzles in the game. On the other hand, there are tremendous disadvantages that this entertainment brings to the kids, the most crucial is health issues. What this means is some TV programmes and games have a stressful plot which might affect the children's mental health. Moreover, when these youths spend most of their time inactive, their physical health will become weaker. For example, we can see a vast number of the new generations are obese and easily get sick and ailments because they spend their time being idle, sitting and lying to play games. In addition, some of them get bullied by their teammates causing them to get stressed and hotheaded. Overall, entertainment such as television programmes, movies, games, etc can provide our children with both positive and negative effects. From my point of view, youngsters can use them to enhance their language proficiency skills. On the flip side, it is their parents' responsibility to look after their offspring's mental and physical health which are worsened by focusing those recreation too much.