Some people believe that professional athletes serve as positive role models for young people, while others argue their behavior both on and off the field has a negative influence. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over professional athletes ' influence on young people. While some claim that athletes bring a greatly favorable impact on the young, the opposite makes a statement that their behavior acts as a disturbance in the young generation. This phenomenon has both pros and cons, I would contend that it is ideal to examine both sides. Without a shadow of a doubt, talented athletes prove themselves as decent role models for children. This is due to the fact that if the athlete demonstrates a healthy balance between putting effort into achieving the goal and having fun with the process, he or she can encourage young people to be diligent and try their best to fulfill their prophecy. To be specific, living healthily and managing to overcome difficulties can be cited as outstanding instances which are inspired by the athlete idols of children. Hence, the young can learn a wealth of helpful and positive things from professional athletes. While the redeeming feature brought by athletes is widely acknowledged, its downside still lingers. Obviously, professional athletes are not always good role models. The explanation for this is that a wide range of talented athletes commit crimes, although they are well-known and influential. Their fans, especially young fans, can commit the same crimes as they want to imitate their idols. For example, Paul Pogba, who was a football star, has been suspended after testing positive for a banned substance. Thus, professional athletes may play a negative role in the young generation. In conclusion, athletes can encourage young people to follow healthy and positive actions, but they can also bring an unfavorable effect on the young. So, young people should choose the correct person to follow their examples.