Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a trend these days for organizations to get a detailed account from employees regarding their personal life including marital status and leisure time activities.Some folks think that such information has nothing to do with the job requirements and may be exploited in a negative way while others believe that this is important for better management and also for the provision of a friendly work environment. This essay will discuss both views and give my opinion that it is essential for employers to know the personal details before designating assignments in order to cater for requirements of the subordinates. On the one hand, there are some drawbacks of sharing private details with the human resource department of a company. Firstly, it makes a person vulnerable to exploitation by unknown personalities.To illustrate, some owners might harass the single females working under their supervision.Those poor ladies may be blackmailed for the sake of career progression.In Lahore, for instance, a mobile company manager was arrested on the charges of sexual harassment of junior unmarried colleagues last year.He used the profile cards of the victims to force them for illegal favors. On the other hand, the intimate data of an individual is valuable for better output because it helps identify right man for the right job. For example, a married person needs time to spend with his family, so his work assignments should not bother his private life. Similarly, a gym-lover should be given time and space for the physical activity at work place.These priviliges can only be provided if the authorities know of the prior commitments of an employee. Moreover, it also enables the management to assisst assess the employer's family demands.To give an example, my boss always send me gifts and extra salary on my birthdays and wedding anniversaries that boost my stamina to work with more zeal and zest in my office. In conclusion, although there are some demerits of asking for extra information from the job aspirants including workplace harrassment, I think that utilization of such data to look after needs of an employee has a hugely positive impact on the worker's morale.