Some people say that violence in the media promotes violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Certain individuals believe that violence occurs due to the negativity spread by media. I have a neutral viewpoint about the affect of media on the behaviour of masses. From my perspective, there are a multitude of reasons behind such kind of offensive behaviour and media could be one of them. This essay will explore how means of information affects society. To begin with, the outburst of anger on a specific topic shown through social platforms or news channels can affect thinking of the ordinary people. Basically, the herd mentality does not have critical thinking. They tend to behave in a way they see visual illustrations and follow them blindy. Consequently, the negative news compounds the aggression and multiplies its spread. To exemplify, when black lives matter began due to the spread of a video in which a black individual was brutally killed then nobody thought of solving it in a legal way. This resulted in the civil unrest throughout the world and wrecked a havoc on personal properties. So, reporters should be cautious of the statements and the videos that are served to their viewers. On the contrary, one of the reasons why violence starts is the lack of personal development. Educational and law institutions are failing to gain the trust of masses. Therefore, societies fail to provide stability to the weaker sections such as the poor and the discriminated individuals. Thus, they are not aware of the offenses they commit due to the lack of conscientiousness. For example, many poor kids join gangs that are involved in murders and illegal activities. Ergo, role of moral values also plays an important part in shaping thinking of an individual. In conclusion, it is not just informaton platforms that could affect thinking of an individual when he watches such kind of content but also the way he is trained to interpret it. Hence, I believe that people should be trained to possess critical and analytical attitude.