Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary society, it is prevalent to observe the number of fatal traffic accidents increasing gradually. Accordingly, some people believe that the best way to reduce the probability is by strict sentencing for driving offences, whereas another party suggests other solutions are available to overcome this issue. Before drawing a conclusion, both points of perspective needs to be discussed. In Fact, driving offences need to be punished strictly, but in Sri Lanka most cases police officers attempt to gain bribes over giving freedom easily. Most of the time these criminals are drunk, so they would not understand the lesson since they are unconscious. In order to enhance the effectiveness of punishments these regulations need to be updated for drivers as well as for police officers. Apart from that, fines should be increased further regarding people who are caught as drunken or sleeping which will alter the opinion of people and will not try to drive when they are in such condition. Therefore, it is evident sufficiently and well-managed regulations can control the situation remarkably. On the other hand, individuals suggest that measures such as increasing illumination on the roads at nighttime, developing pedestrian sidewalks and changing traffic regulations regarding color lights can have a greater impact on road accidents. It is obvious that if the intensity of lights is increased, since people have more clear vision at night number of accidents will be reduced. Apart from that, Pedestrians would not walk along the road if sidewalks were developed more, which would directly contribute to reducing collisions on the road. Furthermore, traffic rules regarding crosswalks and pedestrian walks can be improved further in order to promote smooth operation during peak hours. Finally,it is witnessed that there can be a significant number of alternative options on behalf of reducing road accidents. In conclusion,It is clearly stated that both party's suggestions are reasonable and applicable. Nevertheless, In my opinion, rather than relying on rules and regulations remarkable portion of investment needs to be made in transportation infrastructure to overcome the increasing trend of fatal accidents.