Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is common for people believe that the advent of new technologies are aliminating the main functions of traditional libraries. Although I accpect that development of technology has a lot of influences on people's reading habits, I disagree with the idea that computer technology can replace the functions of convential libraries. On the one hand, development of technology for reading have lots of benefits for public. To begin with, online libraries provide convenience for readers, while customers of traditional libraries need to move to these to use resources, virtual libraries users can have to access to information at any time. Futhermore, using modern technology to read electrinic book (e-book) in the internet not as wasteful as going to the public libraries. Since these libraries are more cost- effective thanks to it does not include paper books, which helps eliminate the need for storage space. For instance, instead of building dozens of high- rise bookshelves and warehouses to store books, people only need to access to e-book pages to read as they are stored very modern. On the other hand, there are also good grounds to argue that many functions of traditional libraries would become redundant due to advent of new technology. Firstly, convential libraries is not only the place for borrowing and lending books, but it also serves as many other purposes. This is exemplified by these provide a peaceful and scholary ambiance of the libraries that support people focus on reading or learning. Secondly, some rare books and special documents are not available in digital format, and public libraries are those which prossess possess these special resources. Nonetheless, there are several popular websites allow users consume some rare documents only when their customers pay a fee. Naturally, very few people make that trade. In conclusion, though there are some advantages of using technology to support people's reading purposes, I believe that keeping convential libraries is not waste finance resource thanks to their functions with general of public.