Many governments have laws that ban the sale and use of hard drugs like heroin and cocaine, yet they allow people to freely buy other more socially acceptable drugs like tobacco and alcohol. Laws that prohibit the sale and consumption of ‘hard’ drugs should be applied to other more widely tolerated drugs such as tobacco and alcohol. What is your opinion?

The regulation to prohibit cocaine and heroin is widely agreed over the world, however, the use of tobacco and alcohol is still debated. I believe that the government have an accountable background to categorizing chemical material based on the health impacts on the body. Although Tobacco and alcohol are harmful, they have less impact on health comparing cocaine and heroin. Tobacco and alcohol cause disease only in long-term and excessively while cocaine and heroin have instant effects such as hallucination and brain damage. Each people have a different tolerance for alcohol and the instant effect of consuming alcohol is intoxication, and for tobacco, there was a study that proved the effects of smoking on the body occur after 10 years of continuous consumption. Based on this, I believe that tobacco and alcohol are still allowed to be distributed. However, the distribution of alcohol and tobacco should be restricted to avoid excessive and underage consumers. As we know, they still have side effects such as lack of self-control, heart damage and stroke though they occur only after consuming for long-term, however, the government should still controlling. In Indonesia, for example, there was a boy who smoked since he was 9 and he was diagnosed with various health problems such as obesity and high blood pressure at a young age. Therefore, restricting more tolerated drugs is still needed especially to avoid buyers from children and overconsumption. To conclude, the government have an accountable reason to ban hard drugs based on their impacts on health and this regulation isba sed on research about the dangers to the body. Yet, other drugs which are more tolerated should be restricted from distribution and consumption due to the fact that people are able to consume it and it is undoubtedly that these drugs also have bad impacts on the body. In my mind, prohibiting certain drugs is the right regulation to prevent bad impacts on people's bodies.