Some people believe that technological tools such as body scanners and CCTV have significantly enhanced our safety and security, while others feel that they have resulted in a loss of privacy. Do the benefits of these items outweigh their disadvantages?

Some individuals argue that technological tools have improved safety and security, whereas others think that these tools are ruining people's privacy. As far as I am concerned, I think that there are more advantages rather than disadvantages having a security control around where I stay. Nowadays, most of the public places are under control by scanners and cameras to ensure people a safer place to stay. Due to these technological tools it is easy to check individuals to see if they have arms or drugs with them. For instance, in airport situations after the check-in, travellers have to pass through a body scanner. In many occasions I saw episodes of people who were under arrest because the scanner identified drugs that the dealer was hiding. Another method to make a place safer is using cameras in public places. Cameras are tools that most of the time work constantly and provide officers videotapes to check situations and give them proof. For example, in Milan the subway is full of cameras so it is easy to see if someone did something wrong and find that person. If someone muggs a bag or a bagagge the videotape can be useful to catch the stealer. In conclusion, some people claim that using security tools is a method to safeguard people's things and sometimes life. Personally I am one of them, I consider cameras and scanners something helpful for me and the community.