With growing populations in cities, more and more people live in homes with little or no outdoor space. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the 21st century, more people around the world, especially in developed countries, tend to live in insufficient residences due to an overpopulation issue. In my opinion, it is certainly a negative aspect for a few reasons. This essay will discuss advantages and disadvantages from this urban revolution. First of all, it can be undeniable that apartment or condominium provides houses for people during the limited of areas problem, resulting in a growing number of high-rise buildings nowadays. The expanding of this urbanism development diminishes a problem of lacking spaces for housing purposes in some countries, for example, in Thailand, there has been about 40% decrease in a number of individuals who cannot find the suitable houses as a result of numerous alternatives in the high-rise building. Additionally, apartment offers calm and secure environment for their residents, which difficult to find in house located near a busy street. On the other hand, this modern lifestyle of living in a limited space seems to impact individual mental health, which is the most illness occurring in the society today. It generates anxiety and stress to people, especially among young people who live in a squared room, leading to tedious and unproductive personality because there is no space for relaxation or recreational activities, such as gardening or doing a yoga. Furthermore, having more outdoor space is significant in child development as it allows extra activities on the weekend: badminton or picnic; thus, it creates not only competence in a child but also tightens relationship in each family. In conclusion, while there are both upsides and downsides in this kind of urbanism, the disadvantages outweigh those advantages in terms of mental health and developing in young’s capability, which are the vital factors in a high quality of life. Therefore, the government should focus in it to improve well-being of its citizens.