A lot of people believe that the amount of violence shown on TV and in the cinema affects the actions of our young people and therefore increases the amount of violence in our society today. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? What can be done to reduce violence in our society today?

Violence on television and in computer games has been a matter of different opinions, some people think that it influencespeople's behaviour with a damaging effect on the population. Others disagree with such a statement, they believe that these factors do not have a significant consequence on society. In my opinion, everything shown on television and in computer games have some level of influence on some individuals, but not in society, the people´s behaviou does not depend on what those influences could bring to a person, instead it depends on all the things that surround people’s education, such as family, schools, friends, and so on. Above all, I would like to share my personal experience, I grew up gaming with my brothers and friends in my neighbourhood; we played a game, so called "violent games ". This was not a bad influence on me; what made me what I am today is the lessons from my parents and my teachers. Indeed, I find that video games are a source of relaxation, and stress management. As well as that, television influences some individuals, it has a big number of topics within their shows. Nowadays, violence, sex, gendering, gaming, and robbers, are the most exciting kinds of movies people watch; if they influenced them, it would be a "hell of a planet". This shows that it is not such a bad influence, but our values, principles and education that teach us how to deal with the kind of shows we watch. In contrast, there are some individuals who do not know how to avoid bad influences of violent video games, that end in a bunch of terrorist acts, some based on personal differences such as cultural, racism that has been taking place in some cities in the United States of America, and some times In Europe as well; such tragic events should be blamed on the individual not on the video games. To summarize, video games and violence on television will always be present, but that is not an excuse to behave the same way as shown, it is on each of us, how we participate and behave in community. Our background, our families, schools, etc, help us build our principles and values thus influencing us the proper way.