Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

People strongly believe that government should invest more money in railways than in road systems. From my perspective, the railway as well as the road networks play an equal vital role. To begin with, I would like to discuss the three primary reasons why I agree spending more money on railways is a judicious decision. First of all, railways is one of common public transportations which every government wants to develop it in order to ensure their domestic traffic is more efficient and convenient. Building more railways helps citizens to limit many private transportations causing a lot of accidents and traffic jams. Secondly, a country having fewer personal vehicles like motorbikes, cars,… which can prevent its environment from some pollutions such as air pollution, noise pollution, carbon emissions,… because road system contributes as the core reason for environmentally contaminating increase. Finally, travelling by railways allows people to pay off less money than other individual vehicles. For example, driving a car lets them waste some additional expenses for gas, taxes, vehicles insurances, car maintaining fees,… Next, I would like to discuss the two fundamental reasons why I disagree that prioritizing investing railways rather than roads. Firstly, it is impossible and inflexible to use public means of transportation in a short or remote distance. Furthermore, people take a quite long time to wait for their turn instead of leaving immediately. Secondly, in several Asian countries, especially Vietnam, both cars and motorbikes have created many job opportunities for local residents through being a technological freelancer driver. In conclusion, a government should expand railways to provide transportation development for people, however, it needs to be considered thoroughly that the areas are appropriate for rail networks construction.