In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who educate their children themselves at home instead of sending them to school. Do you think the advantage of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been a rising number of children experiencing homeschooling instead of attending traditional schools. In my opinion, I strongly advocate that the benefits do not outweigh the drawbacks. Nowadays, parents prefer to teach their children at home in order to spend more quality time with their offsprings, while allowing the children to study at their own paces. To illustrate, many researches have shown that young people having time working together with their parents from very young age would develop stronger and more stable mental health. Moreover, by studying at home, parents can understand the intellectual capacity of their children, hence setting the correct pace for them to achieve the optimal results. Nevertheless, homeschoolers lack the experience of studying with friends, which could help them build the soft skills that are required for their future career endeavours. For instance, students at schools will usually be involved in team projects, which enable them to learn how to work with one another. In addition, the school projects also help the students acquire time management skills, gaining multitasking ability as well as dealing with deadlines and pressure. Moreover, the homeschool children could not benefit from the infrastructure of ordinary schools, including libraries, laboratories or sporting facilities. In fact, it is the hands-on experience achieving through doing lab projects, or the practices on the running tracks that helps to build young people into all-rounded individuals ready for the workforce. In conclusion, it is my strongly held belief that homeschooling, although having the benefits of allowing bonding time for parents and children, is not an advantageous choice for children to develop and be ready for the future jobs.