A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. To what extend do you agree?

It is believed that the government should provide a safe environment for their citizens. Thus, some of them think, the government must spend more resources on defence while lowering the investment in social benefits. In my opinion, I strongly believe that they are both very important, but safety should be always in the first place. Giving the citizens a secure environment to develop their daily activities, as an illustration the children being able to go to school by themselves, feeling free to go out for a walk during the day or night, and having the possibility of being outdoors without feeling threatened, will improve the quality of life which is essential for the happiness and well being of a country`s population. Some others may believe, that on the contrary, it has a greater positive impact on society by spending more money on better social benefits, for example improving the quality of education, bringing more governmental aid for the homeless, and perhaps improving the health system. Undoubted all those are great ideas, but, from my perspective, I think that sometimes people abuse from these benefits, to illustrate, people in good health who decide not to get a job because the money that the government provides for the unemployed is easier and better, that should not be allowed, not only because is unfair but also because at some point it will become unsustainable. In conclusion, there are many points of view and aspects that a government would have to consider before making decicion decisions regarding these matters. But I believe that a safe country must be always a priority.