Shoppers have too much choice, from chocolate bars to jeans.' What, in your opinion, are the advantages and disadvantages of having many things to choose from?

In 2024, there is an abundance number of every product. There are shelves and shelves of different type of milk to choice from, from full fat to almond milk. Overall, there are he advantages and disadvantages of having choice due the financial ability to purchase needs and wants. In terms of advantages, having multiple choices of any product adheres to those with special needs. For instance, those who are not able to digest milk, are now able to purchase and consume alternative type of dairy. In addition to that, prices are more affordable due to competitions between companies. Finally, people of different weight are now able to purchase clothes to their sizes since companies are creating products that is suitable for everyone. There are equally if not more disadvantages of consumerism. It causes issues that is effecting more than people. The environment is severely affected by the amount of products thrown due to having an abundance of items. Furthermore, it is the driving force behind materialism where people measure others based on what bag they are carrying over their values. In line with that, due to creating newer products, companies created more labels such as "plus size" or shops that only adheres to ladies who wear size 0. Those labels are affecting women negatively. Creating unnecessarily categories of products to expand the market leads to women questioning if they need to fit this new category. In conclusion, the disadvantages outweighs the advantages by large. Having the privilege to shop should not be held of importance over the environment. Rules and regulations should be put in place to ensure that products that is harmful are not made.