The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is widely believed that, one of the very first goals of growing science is enhancing the standards of human life. Personally, I subscribe to this insight to a large extent. Our way of life has been improved thanks to advances in science. First, growing science leads to discovering colossal methods and medications in the medical field. That is, it has helped scholars tremendously find the treatments for uncurable diseases. Take cancer as an example. Numerous drugs and methods, such as chemotherapy have been discovered to cure patients who have developed cancer. Previously, there were no efficient treatments for such diseases, therefore patients used to pass away. Advanced medications not only developed our medical facilities but also decreased the mortality rate. Furthermore, growing science results in sophisticated technology. Scientists have developed methods to take advantage of natural resources rather than fossil fuels in order to capture energy. For instance, nowadays, there are so many facilities, such as windmills and solar panels to harness the energy of wind and sun. This can easily decline the desire for fossil fuels which can pose devastating effects on the environment. Utilizing the energy of natural resources can apparently reduce the air pollution and water contamination caused by burning gas, coal, and charcoal. On the other hand, a panel of people claim that advanced technology may result in some serious drawbacks. They believe unemployment in this day is stemmed from sophisticated technology. To clarify, invention of artificial intelligence (AI) is one of the most threatening factors which can cause unemployment. When this novel technology can meet various requirements, employers will become reluctant to take workforces on. However, this issue can easily be managed by imposing intellectual laws. In conclusion, due to the foregoing reasons, although there might be some downsides, the advantages of science in our lives are far more than the disadvantages. Hence, owing to advanced approaches in medicine and technology, I am totally in favour of this view.