Some people think that individuals today are more dependent on each other. Others believe people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent days, people have held different views about whether we become more dependent on others. While, some argue that people are more reliant on others than they used to. This essay believes that we are more independent than people in the past. On the one hand, there are some reasons that could be argued that we depend on each other now. First, life is complex and difficult, especially, since the cost of living has increased dramatically. Young adults tend to require their parents for financial help when they buy a house because property prices have been higher in recent days. Secondly, people seem to be more ambitious about a better life for their family. Therefore, both parents have to work overtime and exhaustedly in order to provide for their children's careers. On the other hand, I would agree with those who believe that we are more independent these days. Some people think that being dependent on others will waste their time. Also, becoming independent may increase confidence in facing difficult situations and it helps people enhance decision-making skills. For instance, many parents often encourage their children to study abroad instead of going to the local university because this experience gives them some information about the other environment. In conclusion, while there are some reasons to believe that modern people are reliant on each other, my own view is that we are more independent in recent years.