Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

In this contemporary era, a lot of individuals around the world suffer from insomnia. This essay discusses about the ill- effects of this situation and also provides solutions that can help one with getting a good sleep at night. To commence with, the harmful effects of not getting a sound sleep are manifold. Firstly, people have to suffer from various mental issues. Anxiety and depression are the most common among them. For example, a recent Sunday Times newspaper showed that 50% of people suffering from insomnia seek help from psychotherapist for anxiousness and suicidal tendencies. Secondly, these individuals also experience numerous physical ailments like heart stroke, diabetes and obesity. These diseases have deleterious effects on their overall wellbeing. However, there are multiple remedies that maybe beneficial and can help overcome this ailment. First, people should make a habit of practicing meditation and yoga on a regular basis. These exercises help one relieve stress and helps in getting a sound sleep. Second, people should avoid using mobile phones 2 hours before bedtime. Smartphone release blue light, which derails one’s sleep cycle. Third, one should avoid consuming food and beverages containing caffeine as it has detrimental effects on sleep. In conclusion, in this modern world, staying awake in night has become very common and this trend has detrimental effects on the physical and mental wellbeing of individuals. However, implementation of possible solutions can help overcome this issue.