Scientists agree that people are harming their health by eating too much fat food. Some people think that the solution to this problem is to make people aware of the problems. Others think education will not work. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While nutrition nutrition experts have peer reviewed research verifying that a fatty diet erodes population health, there is not consensus around the notion that a public education campaign would be the most viable option. Proponents of nutritional education believe teaching a popluation addicted to fat will result in heightedned awareness of risks of eating unhealthy fats and provide healthier alternatives. Those opposed to educational campaigns assert that education is not enough because people from all walks of life, across cultures, benefit from a nurochemical response in the cerebral cortex when eating delicious foods. Instead, they posit, regulation and public policy are the answer. Herein the opposing positions shall be reviewed. On one side of the debate are Educational boosters who argue that an informed populace will simply naturally act in their best interests. One example of numerous similarly successful campaigns comes from the 1980's and 1990's. In those campaigns to improve seatbelt use deaths and serious injuries were reduced significantly. Therefore, its argued, a robust and sustained program to teach citizens of the risks of unhealthy eating, when coupled with training aimed at more positive behavior, is the ideal solution according to those who advocate the educational approach. On the opposite side of the fray are the pragamatic pragmatist who argue that education will not change unhealthy behavior when humans are rewarded with the powerful nurochemical neurochemicals dopomine. These pragmatists rightly suggest that tobaco, alcohol, and drugs--among other dopomine boosting precursers --are examples of how education has done little to thwart public health problems. They suggest that public policy has had a greater impact on both the reduction of addictive substances and public safety measure such as seat belt utilization. All things considered, both sides are correct. As a matter of public policy governments must educate the populace. This is essential to building public support. Furthermore, teaching people healthy nutritional habits will assure early adopters rally behind initiatives and bolster support. Nevertheless, public policy must force better labeling, require a higher percentage of lower fat sustainance in various domains, and limit some of the most harmful types of fats. Similar leadership would also be beneficial from other business and civic leaders. In conclusion, there is not any debate that fat harms overall human health, however opposing views have presented diachotomous arguements portraying education and public policy as binaries. In my view harmonizing both viewpoints is wise. Leaders in government and beyond have a role to play in education and also making choices on behalf of a population whose willpower is easily overcome by weak mindedness. Now is the time to come together with a comprehensive education and policy scheme to turn the tide of nutritional shortcomings and their consequences.